Resources

Many national and local organizations advocate for homeless people and/or conduct research on the needs and concerns of the homeless. Some of them are listed below. Others are easily found on the Internet by doing a subject-area search.

Chapin Hall Center for Children: www.chapinhall.org

The Chicago Continuum of Care: http://www.chicagocontinuum.org

The Chicago Coalition for the Homeless: www.chicagohomeless.org

Chicago Rehab Network:www.chicagorehab.org

The City of Chicago Department of Family & Support Services:
http://www.cityofchicago.org/city/en/depts/fss.html

Corporation for Supportive Housing:www.csh.org

Heartland Alliance for Human Needs and Human Rights:www.heartlandalliance.org

The City of Chicago Department of Housing and Economic Development:
http://www.cityofchicago.org/city/en/depts/dcd.html

Public Citizen:www.publiccitizen.org

Public Citizen recently published a report entitled: America’s Neglected Veterans: 1.7 Million Who Served Have No Health Coverage: Report of the Study Group on Veterans’ Health Insurance

R. Sargent Shriver National Center on Poverty Law:www.povertylaw.org